The 5th Sense.

Adrian de León
8 min readJun 9, 2020

A sentiment had been brewing inside me for some time, one which refused to dissipate. For every day for which I resided within society, the heavier this sentiment grew. It had latched itself at the back of my throat and had swirled down to my guts. Latching onto my instinct, it seemed to warn me that something was wrong.

The mind, that dualistic entity, separate from my brain, instructed me to ignore the logical compartments. Those that so often take precedence over the animal instinct. I knew something was wrong, I saw it around me every day. My conscious may have ignored the growing number of sirens echoing outside my house buy my ears could not. The sounds of the street were nothing but audio strips for the hurling sounds of emergency services and police patrols. Though I chose to ignore the significance of what my ears could hear, I could not help but peer out of my bedroom window. The glass of my windows were tainted with neglect and apathy — a mere reflection of the world outside of it.

The skies were grey, as always, and the wind was whistling through the leaves of the trees which injected vegetation in the otherwise concrete heavy street. All I saw were cars, driven by masked strangers who all shared a common trait. Sunken eyes, organic windows of a soul that had long gone. On the pavement, individuals laced their steps with discomfort and alertness. Though I did not know these people, and though I could not ask them, I sensed they knew something was wrong. I saw it on the faces of those I had met and of those I had yet to.

--

--