Post-colonial denial

Adrian de León
1 min readMay 10, 2020

On my skin and in my eyes I see the demise
Of a colonial power with an aim to tower
Across lands and seas with pride and disease
With dreams of purity, blinded by divine duty
Sanctified by popes, armed with eugenic tropes
Destiny had the barbarian in a Catch-22 like Yossarian
Ancestors could run towards the sound of the gun
Or stand firm and erect, tales history would neglect
Jesus was Caucasian, melanin out of the equation
Oppress the African princess, for cosmetic progress
Ignore cultural appropriation for mass commodification
Philosophy is always Western, mysticism is always Eastern
For today a Latin King, ain’t nothing but a G thing
Whilst Mayan astrology doesn’t fit historical ontology
On my skin and in my eyes I see the lies
Of power dynamics and post-colonial relics

--

--