agent of Chaos

Adrian de León
3 min readAug 14, 2022
Photo by Callum Skelton on Unsplash

The property of a complex system whose behaviour is so unpredictable as to appear random, owing to great sensitivity to small changes in conditions.”

We have created systems to nullify the complexity of our world; first we relied on the system of nature, then we created gods which we canonised into various monolithic systems, and now we abide to rules and expectations created in utilitarian values based off an inter-subjective notion called Society.

We have set norms and expectations under a thinly veiled blanket of freedom. We live in a plural world dominated by a single ideology, and outliers are more-or-less punished depending on how much value they have. I, like many others, struggle to fit-in within these norms as the years since my birth accumulate. I never chose this life, and I certainly never chose to have a life, yet I am bound to toe-the-line and comply with expectations set by men who never had our best intentions to heart. I have been expected to learn the ropes without ever burning my hands, and if you slip down then it is up to you to pull yourself up.

If chaos was a structure that I could sense within my fabulous five, I would equate it to a black hole. If chaos followed me around like an obedient dog, never too close but never too far, then I would stare into its abyss. I would look closely expecting to see anyone but me engulfed in its clutches…

--

--